999 Words of Thanks

I’m thankful for long distance phone calls and direct flights. I’m thankful for email, and snail mail, and for photo sharing over the internet. I’m thankful for closely-knit families. I’m thankful for the ocean, and for icebergs, and for the Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. I’m thankful for wedding photographs and childhood stories.

I’m thankful for medical procedures and diagnoses. I’m thankful for surgery. I’m thankful for support systems, and hugs, and for coffee outings on mornings that are minus fifteen degrees. I’m thankful for family friends and public health care. I’m thankful for younger brothers, younger sisters, older cousins and toddlers. I’m thankful for cookie parties. I’m thankful for trusted secrets, and shared names.

I’m thankful for puppies. I’m thankful for aunts and uncles that aren’t really related by blood. I’m thankful for fireplaces, and for television shows on the internet, and for cozy evenings in the cold. I’m thankful for bread baking in Wales and philosophical discussions in the UK. I’m thankful for societies that are gradually becoming more accepting and less discriminating. I’m thankful for House and a sense of humour.

I’m thankful for Meryl Streep, and Natalie Portman, and Tina Fey. I’m thankful for animated fairy tales and for Curious George anthologies. I’m thankful for the duvet covered in musical animals that protected me from the Voldemort in my closet, and for countless tomes devoured at one o’clock in the morning. I’m thankful for dance, and for music, and for harmonizing loudly during car trips.

I’m thankful for schools within walking distance, and I’m thankful for teachers that listen. I’m thankful for sailing trips. I’m thankful for French horn, and for French horn posses, and for new relationships with people I’ve known for ages. I’m thankful for friends that live just down the road, and neighbours that build airplanes in the garage in their backyard. I’m thankful for candle making, and for Hallowe’ening, and for block parties with people I’ve never met. I’m thankful for the community centre with free skating on Sundays, and for last-minute kickball games with the kids from the block. I’m thankful for Friday night pizza and online RPGs. I’m thankful for Lord of the Rings, and clueless boys, and gossiping girls that make fun of my baggy clothes.

I’m thankful for A&W, and painted nails, and rocky beaches. I’m thankful for Mahjong. I’m thankful for decorating Christmas trees and leaving out cookies for Santa, and I’m thankful for scattering reindeer food in the snow. I’m thankful for amateur fireworks. I’m thankful for Christmas Eve services, and for Father Chris, and for congregations. I’m thankful for the Food Bank, and for volunteering, and for the public library. I’m thankful for adorable kids who need help with their reading, and for high-energy kids who won’t take the help.

I’m thankful for getting caught by the police, and failed jumping pictures, and all-nighters. I’m thankful for dances and for Michael Jackson. I’m thankful for cheap seat theatres. I’m thankful for plane rides, and cruises, and trains. I’m thankful for national parks and for written messages in toilet stalls. I’m thankful for walking home from restaurants. I’m thankful for eclectic musical tastes.

I’m thankful for band camp, and choir camp, and concerts. I’m thankful for long lines during random Safeway runs with friends. I’m thankful for Starbucks and its crappy baked goods section. I’m thankful for bought cookie dough shared with pals on the walk home. I’m thankful for running across crosswalks, and for talking the train downtown, and for hanging out in Chinatown just for the hell of it. I’m thankful for cupcakes and school bus ice cream. I’m thankful for the mountains. I’m thankful for sunrises and sunsets, and telescopes in the middle of the night. I’m thankful for warm beds and teddy bears. I’m thankful for cold sleeping bags and summer camp, and for friends in unexpected people.

I’m thankful for overprotective parents and aunts, and for nitpicking step-grandfathers. I’m thankful for shy men and amazing women. I’m thankful for my heritage, and for bilingualism, and for traditions. I’m thankful for spontaneity. I’m thankful for angsty poetry and beautiful photography, for school arts magazines and newspapers. I’m thankful for revolutions and pop culture. I’m thankful for days off school, for fire drills, and for huddling together in the cold. I’m thankful for days spent in foreign countries in plus forty degree sunshine. I’m thankful for donkeys. I’m thankful for volcanoes. I’m thankful for kidney transplants, and chemotherapy, and radiation.

I’m thankful for strangers who smile at me in the street, and for buskers, and fiddlers, and big band jazz. I’m thankful for the people who can’t sing a note, and for the people who’ve got crazy pipes. I’m thankful for music in general. I’m thankful for the sound leaves make when they crunch under your feet in the fall, and for the shapes clouds make in the sky, and for the freezing cold that makes you do up your coat in the winter. I’m thankful for my birthday, and for spring, and for baking. I’m thankful for solitary card games. I’m thankful for the cabin, and the pond, and the island that you can swim to if you really feel the need.

I’m thankful for lyrics that express exactly how I feel, and for playlists that make everything better.

I’m thankful for the possibility of moving away, and I’m thankful for the chance to stay put. I’m thankful for accents. I’m thankful for walks around the neighbourhood, and for tea buns, and I’m thankful for knitting lessons. I’m thankful for old home videos that show really embarrassing footage of my six-year-old self. I’m thankful for growing up. I’m thankful for learning, and good marks, and arguments with teachers. I’m thankful for understanding, even if we’re not quite there yet. I’m thankful for starting to know myself, and for open boxes, and for therapy. I’m thankful for friends of all ages, and for you.

I’m thankful for having known you.

Post inspired by Schmutzie.

One response to “999 Words of Thanks

  1. I’m thankful that you wrote this post. It’s Thanksgiving weekend, and I almost forgot to use it to its fullest by actually, you know, being thankful.

Leave a Reply

