Putting On My Dancing Shoes

Hey kids! Well, yesterday I decided to make a massive batch of muffins because I noticed we had a full tub of yogurt sitting in our fridge that was about to go off. Not that I needed an excuse to make muffins, really, but I guess that’s some sort of justification, anyway.

1

Cran-Bran Muffins
adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1/2 cup margarine
1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup bran
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and the brown sugar with an electric mixer until the mixture is light and fluffy, beat in the egg, the yogurt, and the honey, and stir in the dried cranberries. Whisk together the flour, the baking soda, the salt, the cinnamon and the bran, add the mixture to the yogurt mixture, and stir the batter until it is just combined. Spoon the batter into 12 muffin tins and bake the muffins in the middle of a preheated 375°F oven for about 17 minutes, or until they are golden brown and springy to the touch. Turn the muffins out onto a rack and let them cool.

This recipe is meant to make 12 muffins, but I doubled the recipe and got 24 muffins plus a small loaf.

This is definitely the best bran muffin recipe I’ve tried to date… often, bran muffins turn out kind of dense and dry when I make them, but these are lighter and fantastic. I had one for breakfast this morning, topped with melted cheddar and some quick homemade apple sauce, and they were absolutely delicious and satisfying. Actually, quick note about the apple sauce… I had half of a Golden Delicious left over from yesterday’s snack, so I chopped it up and nuked it with some cloves and some cinnamon for about two minutes. Then, I stuffed it all into the blender, made it into a kind of thick purée, and left it in the fridge overnight. This morning, it was perfect for spreading! It’s a quick fix if you’re desperate for applesauce, and it’s tasty to boot.

In other news, I got new shoes for school! I was really bored yesterday, so I marked them up a bit, and I think they turned out pretty well!

2

I love this style of sneaker, and I finally found a pair at Payless that wasn’t outrageously expensive and that actually fit. Needless to say, I was pretty pleased! If you’re wondering what the words are, they’re all lyrics from different songs that I’m currently enjoying… there’s some Indigo Girls on there, some MJ, Diana Krall, CAKE, and Death Cab For Cutie. Yeah.

3

Anyway, it looks like it’s lunch time, so I’m going to go get myself a bite and maybe read a bit of the novel I’ve been reading. This afternoon, I’m getting together with some friends to see The Time Traveler’s Wife, and then tonight, I might be going out for Chinese. I’ll tell you all about it later!

Ciao!

Comments are closed.