Rainy Days

I woke up this morning and everything was thoroughly soaked… it’s been pouring all day. For me, this was a good thing, as I had to finish off my Physics unit and wouldn’t have been able to go outside anyway… and I absolutely adore rainy days to boot. This was my kind of day!

I spent what little morning I had blog surfing and fooling around, then managed to actually make myself presentable at around noon. Then, I worked for a while and listened to some great tunes… I bought a new Indigo Girls song off of iTunes to tide me over until I can afford a new album, and it’s absolutely stunning. The lyrics are so gorgeous!

I want to say that underneath it all, you are my friend,
And the way that I fell for you, I’ll never fall that way again…
I still believe, despite our differences, that what we have’s enough;
I believe in you, and I believe in love.

You can listen to the whole track here.

Then, when I was completely kooky and couldn’t handle any more of my Physics course, I made myself some toasted coconut shortbread, which, let me tell you, is extremely tasty.

1

Toasted Coconut Shortbread, from Smitten Kitchen.

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325°F. Bake coconut until it is light golden, stirring occasionally, which took me about 5 minutes. Cool completely, then grind in a blender until coarsely ground.

Using electric mixer, beat butter and sugar in large bowl until well blended. Mix in salt and vanilla. Beat in flour in 2 additions. Stir in toasted coconut. Gather dough together, flatten into a disc and wrap in plastic. Chill for 15 minutes.

Roll out dough disk on lightly floured work surface to 1/4-inch thickness. Using 2-inch-diameter cookie cutters, cut dough into rounds. Transfer cookies to prepared baking sheets, spacing 1 inch apart. Gather dough scraps and reroll; cut out additional cookies.

Bake cookies until light golden, about 17 minutes. Cool.

I made little sandwiches out of mine by putting some strawberry jam between two cookies. They’re so cute, and the shortbread is really tasty… perfect for rainy days like today!

Tonight is my second Mother/Daughter bellydancing class – I coerced Mum into taking it with me, it’s pretty silly… I might get around to posting about the class in more detail later on.

Ciao, kids!

PS: The Europe trip is on! We leave on the 23rd in the afternoon and arrive in Gatwick airport on the morning of the 24th. We don’t really have any plans thus far… we’re planning on hanging out in England for a while with my aunt and uncle, and then we’ll head up to Wales to visit another aunt, and around the 1st of August we’ll be heading over to France! I’m so pumped! Smile

Comments are closed.