Smiling Phases

I have got the most divine recipe to share with you children… it involves toasted pecans, cinnamon, and rhubarb, which is quite possibly one of my favourite fruits on the face of the planet.

It’s called Rhubarb-Pecan Bread.

1

This is what my breakfast has looked like for the past three days in a row. This moist “almost-cake” is absolutely delicious with yogurt and fresh fruit, but on with the recipe I suppose, eh?

adapted from Eating Out Loud.

3/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup diced rhubarb
1/3 cup chopped pecans, toasted

topping
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp butter
1/4 tsp cinnamon

  1. Mix all bread ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Generously grease a bread pan.
  3. Pour the batter into the pan.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the topping ingredients; mix with your fingers. Sprinkle over the batter.
  5. Bake at 325F for 45 minutes or until it tests done.
  6. Allow to cool for ~10 minutes before tipping out of pan. Be careful when removing from the pan.

This was such a tasty bread; I can’t sing its praises enough! It’s sweet, but the rhubarb sets it off because it’s so tangy… it was gorgeous. With this baby and BS&T starting my day, I’m a happy camper.

Oh, and I’ve also made a few changes around the place, as well. You can all now find all of the recipes posted on the blog over at the recipes page!

Toodles, friendlies!

Comments are closed.