To Days of Inspiration…

…playing hooky, making something out of nothing, the need to express – to communicate; to going against the grain, going insane, going mad!

I definitely didn’t realise that I haven’t blogged in nearly a week, which is pretty pathetic. A lot of stuff has happened since my last post, so we’ve got some good catching up to do! I figure I’ll break it down into categories… here goes…

books
So I picked up a copy of Angels and Demons the other day, hoping it would be just as amazing as The Da Vinci Code… and I couldn’t put it down! Dan Brown is so great at capturing my attention, which is really funny because usually, descriptions as graphic as his would totally turn me off. I’m a wimp. However, I think because he approaches everything from an analytical perspective, I can deal… because it’s not explicitly trying to scare the shit out of you, right? Anyway, long story short… it was stunning.

food
I’ve been sort of mostly photographing everything I eat, but I think I’ll just leave you kids with this awesome recipe for pancakes adapted from Kath Eats Real Food that I made last week.

Pancakes!

whole wheat pancakes
1/3 cup skim milk
1 egg
1 cup low-fat plain yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp sugar
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt

with 1/4 cup batter servings, makes ~12 pancakes

A lot of people shy away from whole wheat pancakes because of their density, but these were really, really nice. This is definitely my go-to recipe for pancakes now… they’re easy and delicious, especially served with raspberry jam and a side of fresh fruit salad!

Fruit Salad

movies
I went to the theatre with my friend the other day and we saw Pixar’s Up on a spur-of-the-moment type deal. I wasn’t really expecting it to be all that amazing… I was looking forward to renting it, but wasn’t planning on seeing it on the big screen. I’m so glad we did! Up was just spectacular: cute, funny, touching… it was everything I look for in a movie. At times, it had me in stitches, and it also had me and my friend crying. The fact that Christopher Plummer is the bad guy just makes it all the more epic.

music
Michael
michael joseph jackson, 1958-2009

Michael Jackson’s death was such a rude awakening for me… he’s just always been in the background of my life, and to have someone as incredibly talented as him was a real blessing for all of us, I think. It’s sad that some narrow-minded people only remember him as the “pedophile,” even though nothing was ever proven… because I believe we should remember his great achievements instead. He revolutionized dance and music for the entire world! To the true King of Pop, may he rest in peace. ♥

I’ve got a tribute tee in the works… I hope to post pictures either late today or tomorrow, along with a top 5 playlist.

school
Report cards were issued today… my lowest mark was a ninety per cent, which is crazy. Plus, I’ve got my Unit B Physics exam late this week, which marks the halfway point! I’m so pumped!

Well, I suppose I should actually finish some of that Physics review, so I’ll have to be leaving you kids now… hope to post sometime soon! Peace!

Comments are closed.